Environmental and Energy Advisory Board

In 2019 the Commissioners announced the formation of a Chester County Environmental and Energy Advisory Board. The Environmental and Energy Advisory Board will enhance the County's commitment to preservation and protection of the environment and focus on the balance, interplay, and impact of energy related initiatives and issues.

In February 2020 the Commissioners voted to appoint 21 individuals to the County's Environmental and Energy Advisory Board. The members of the Board include Chester County residents along with representatives of businesses, energy initiatives, municipalities, land conservancies and county departments.

View the bylaws of the Chester County Environmental and Energy Advisory Board

coverChester County Climate Action Plan — October 2021

The Chester County Climate Action Plan was adopted by the County Commissioners on October 7, 2021. The plan was prepared by the Chester County Planning Commission in partnership with the County's Environmental and Energy Advisory Board. The Climate Action Plan provides a blueprint for reducing greenhouse gas emissions and increasing energy efficiency at County government facilities and community-wide.

For more information about the plan, see the Climate Action Plan webpage.

Chester County Solar Adopter's Conference — January 2024

The Chester County Environmental and Energy Advisory Board co-hosted a Solar Adopter's Conference to share information about the process of going solar. View slides from the event.

2024 Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held the fourth Wednesday of the month, quarterly, 2:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m., and are currently hybrid allowing the public to attend in person or via Zoom. Meetings are held in the Government Services Building (601 Westtown Road, West Chester, PA 19380). Check individual agendas posted below for specific room location.

Visit https://zoom.us/j/98503061778 to join the webinar or telephone toll free 877-853-5247 and enter Webinar ID 985 0306 1778 (passcode 471060). We recommend beginning to log in at 2:15 in case of technical difficulties. The public is invited to join, and there will be an opportunity for public comment during the meeting.

If you are joining by phone and would like to comment, wait for the Chair to call for public comment. When the Chair calls for comment press *9 to "raise your hand". When it is your turn, the Chair will call the last four digits of your phone number and an automated voice will instruct you to press *6 to un-mute yourself and speak. When done speaking, mute your phone by pressing *6.

2023 Meetings

2022 Meetings

2021 Meetings

2020 Meeting Schedule

Chester County Environmental and Energy Advisory Board Members

Name Representation from Bylaws Organization
Paul Spiegel, Chair CCEDC Smart Energy Initiative Practical Energy Solutions
Carol DeWolf, Vice-Chair Chester County Association of Township Officials (CCATO) CCATO
Brian O'Leary, Secretary County Department - Planning Commission Chester County
Kelsey Boyd Land Conservancy Natural Lands
Seung Ah Byun County Department - Water Resources Authority Chester County
Mark Connolly Business Business
Joseph DiRocco Municipal Managers Consortium Tredyffrin Townshp
Madhu Gurthy Citizen Citizen
Steve Krug Business Krug Architects
George Martynick County Department - Facilities Chester County
Warren W. Messerschmidt County Department - Emergency Services Chester County
Rachel Roberts Business American Mushroom Institute
Britnee Sanseverino Utility PECO Energy
Sarah Sharp Land Conservancy Brandywine Conservancy
Dave Stauffer County Department - Parks And Preservation Chester County
Chris Strohmaier County Department - Conservation District Chester County
Kevin Warren Business Warren Energy
Wyatt Williams Citizen West Whiteland Township
Jim Wylie Citizen Citizen
Vacant Citizen Vacant
Vacant Utility Vacant